照明及其对猪的福利和产能的影响

HATO 新闻,

照明是在家畜生产管理中经常被大家忽略的一个重要的因素。它可以直接影响到生猪的健康和生产性能。

经过45多年积累的经验,荷德照明已经是农业照明领域的专家。

给生猪提供一个与之视力相匹配的光照环境至关重要。光照会影响生猪的生物钟,乃至社交等一系列行为。一个正确的光照环境包含了以下几个重要方面:光谱,光分布,(非)频闪,光照强度和光照周期(后两者是最重要的因素)。

猪的视觉

见图1,猪的全景视角有310°。猪偏好使用单眼视觉,这包含了它们全景视角的主要部分,也意味着猪能容易的发现周边的危险。但是另一方面,单眼视觉也带来了弊端,由于猪的双目视觉较小,导致它们很难估测距离。

Pig vision HATO lighting

光谱

可见光谱是电磁光谱中可见部分。这部分光谱中的电磁辐射部分又叫做可见光。不同的波长在眼中看到是不同的颜色:最长的波长是红色,最短的则是紫色。在图2中大家可以看到,猪的可见光谱和人类大相径庭。

猪的可见光谱区间在380-694nm, 在439nm(蓝)和556nm(绿)到达峰值。基于视锥细胞光谱灵敏度 ( 观察眼睛的视锥细胞和视杆细胞 ) 和基于行为反应的光谱灵敏度之间存在差异。当我们要研究猪的健康和产能改善情况时,最好根据它们的行为反应来研究光谱灵敏度。这部分可见光谱可以从图2看到。

将光照调节至猪的可见光谱,猪的视感能得到提升,从而改善猪的社交行为,帮助猪更好地利用猪舍的环境,减少应激。

猪与人类的光谱敏感度对比

光分布

光分布就是舍内光照分布的均匀程度。当光分布均匀的时候,舍内不会有亮斑和阴影。

猪会避开亮斑、阴影、以及粉刷成黑色和白色的图案。这是由于深度感知缺陷造成的。

当阴影和亮斑正好落在走道或栏位,猪就会停滞不前。它们会对光照的对比做出反应,往往会走向更加明亮的区域。这些行为反应,一部分是由于它们的生理本能,一部分是取决于它们的饲养环境。

鉴于此,提供一个亮度均匀的光照方案至关重要!这样可以避免亮斑和阴影。同时个性化定制的光照方案也很重要,针对不同房舍尺寸来设计,以满足光照需求,保证光照的均匀度。

确保光照能够满足你和动物的需求。可通过邮件[email protected]来获取免费的个性化光照方案。

频闪

频闪从图3中可以看到,频闪是灯具光输出的一个迅速变化过程。光输出的这个迅速变化可以被有意识或无意识的感知到。然而,当处于某个固定的频率(闪光融合频率),频闪就可以不再被感知。

 

Light Flicker - CN

生猪和人类对频闪的感知相似,也就是说在同一个频率上猪和人都能看到频闪。频闪会导致人类头痛、眼酸、注意力涣散。猪的健康也一样受到频闪的影响。
鉴于此,我们强烈建议使用100%零频闪照明产品。

光照强度

光照强度就是光的亮度大小,以勒克斯为单位。
猪的推荐光照强度已经得到广泛推广。欧洲关于猪舍光照有明确法律规定,每天至少8小时的照明,最低40勒克斯。关于在猪的不同生长阶段的光照强度使用也有了相关的研究,我们已经知道猪对光照强度有特定的偏好。但是,基于目前的几项研究,还没有统一的答案,需要更多的研究来给猪的不同生长阶段作出正确的光照强度建议。

可以确定的是,通过正确的光强,产仔率、增重、空怀期的时长等方面都可以得到改善。

光照周期

光照周期指的是舍内每天光照的时长。即对密闭式猪舍而言,室内灯打开的小时数

早期的研究表明较长的光照时间对猪的生产有积极的作用。相对于光照时间少的情况,更多的光照意味着有了更多的哺乳频次和较高的乳固含量,仔猪体重更重,断奶仔猪数也更多。

为了获得最佳产能,猪不同的生长阶段,应用不同的光照时间十分关键。每一个生长阶段都使用正确的光照时间有诸多好处,例如有更优的料转比和产仔率。

HATO guiding pig farmer with LED lighting

结论

因为光照对猪的健康和产能影响很大,猪舍有一个完美的光照方案至关重要!

将光调节至猪的可见光谱,猪的视感得到提升,从而最终改善猪的社交行为和环境利用率,减少应激。有了良好的光照均匀度,可以防止猪出现不良行为,同时零频闪照明也能提高猪的健康状况。在猪的每个生长阶段使用正确的光照强度和光照周期能大幅提升猪的产能。

确保光照能够满足你和动物的需求。可通过邮件[email protected]来获取免费的个性化光照方案。

分享这个帖子:

最近的帖子
最佳层照明的4点关键的好处
HATO LED lighting without flickering
所有你需要知道的关于光的闪烁!
菜单

Lighting as an influencer of pig welfare and production

HATO News, Pigs

Although it is often overlooked, lighting is an important part of pig management. It can directly influence a pig’s welfare and performance.

With over 45 years of experience, HATO Agricultural Lighting has become an expert in agricultural lighting.

It’s important that the light climate is adjusted to the vision and needs of the pig. Light influences the pig’s biological clock i.e. the biorhythm, its social behaviour and its overall activity. A correct light climate depends on several factors: light spectrum, light distribution, (non) flickering, light intensity and photoperiods are the most important ones.

The pigs vision

A pig’s panoramic vision (i.e. total vision) is 310º. As you can imagine (see figure 1), pigs have a preference for their monocular vision, since this represents a major part of their panoramic vision. This means that it is easier for them to detect danger. On the other hand, it is more difficult for pigs to estimate distances due to their relatively small binocular vision.

Pig vision HATO lighting
Fig. 1 A pig’s panoramic vision

Light spectrum

The visible spectrum is the part of the electromagnetic spectrum that can be seen. Electromagnetic radiation within this spectrum is also called visible light. The different wavelengths are seen by the eye as different colours: red for the longest wavelength and violet for the shortest one. The visible spectrum of human beings and pigs differs significantly, as you can see in figure 2.

Download the FERAX brochure

The visible spectrum of pigs reaches from 380-694nm with peak wavelengths at 439nm (blue) and 556nm (green). There is a difference between spectral sensitivity based on cone-sensitivity, looking at the cones and rods in the eyes, and spectral sensitivity based on behavioural responses. When looking at the improvement of the pig’s welfare and performance, it’s best to look at the spectral sensitivity based on behavioural responses. This visible spectrum is shown in figure 2.

By adapting the light to the pig’s visible spectrum, the pig’s vision will improve, which will eventually lead to improved (social) behaviour, better usage of the environment and decreased stress.

Spectral sensitivity of pig vs. human being_EN
Fig 2. Spectral sensitivity of pig vs. human being.

Light distribution

Light distribution shows how evenly light is distributed in the house. When light distribution is uniform, this means there are no bright spots and shadows. Pigs show an aversion to bright spots, shadows, painted black patterns and painted white patterns. This could be caused by depth perception problems.

When shadows or bright spots fall across walkways or pens, pigs can balk. They respond to contrasts of light and have the tendency to walk towards a more brightly illuminated area . These behavioural responses are partly caused by their instinct and partly caused by their rearing environment.

As such, it is important that lighting solutions offer a uniform light spread, so bright spots and shadows can be prevented. It’s also important to make a proper, tailor-made light plan that fits the needs of house, to enable the creation of uniform light distribution.

Make sure your lights suit your and your animal’s needs. Request your free, tailor-made light plan by sending an e-mail to [email protected]

Light flicker

As can be seen in figure 3, flicker is the rapid change in the light output of a lamp. This rapid change in light output can be perceived consciously and unconsciously. However, from a certain frequency (flicker fusion frequency), it is no longer perceivable.


Fig 3. Light flicker

Pigs perceive light flickering similarly to human beings. This means that pigs will notice flickering at a similar level. For human beings, flickering can lead to headaches, eyestrain and loss of concentration. This may mean that a pig’s health will be affected by flickering as well. As such, 100% flicker-free lighting would be highly recommended.

Light intensity

Light intensity stands for the brightness of light, measured in lux. Recommended light intensities for pigs are widely spread. European legislation on lighting establishes a minimum of 40 lux with a photoperiod of at least eight hours a day. Several studies have been conducted on light intensities at different life stages. It’s important to know that pigs do show preferences for a specific light intensity. However, looking at the studies until now, there appears to be no consistency to these preferences. More research has to take place to advise the correct light intensity per life phase.

What is clear though, is that by using a correct light intensity, fertility, growth, wean-to- serve intervals and more can be improved.

Photoperiod

The photoperiod stands for the length of the day in hours of light, i.e. the number of hours that the lights are on in the house. Earlier studies conducted with pigs showed for instance that long photoperiods have a positive influence on production results. Due to a higher suckling frequency and a higher milk solid content, piglets were heavier and more piglets were weaned per litter compared with short day photoperiods.

To optimize performance, it’s important to provide the right photoperiod in every phase of the pig’s life. A correct photoperiod in each phase can have several advantages, such as a better feed conversion rate and improved fertility.

Kim Geurts HATO Lighting specialist
Fig 4. Kim Geurts – HATO Lighting specialist

Conclusion

Since light has a strong influence on pig welfare and performance, it is important to ensure an optimal light climate in a pig house. By adapting the light to the pig’s visible spectrum, the pig’s vision will improve, which will eventually improve (social) behaviour, usage of the environment and stress levels. By providing uniform light distribution, unwanted behaviour can be prevented, whilst non-flickering lights may improve a pig’s health. Applying the correct light intensity and applying a correct photoperiod in every phase of the pig’s life, can significantly improve pig performance.

Download the FERAX brochure

Make sure your lights suit your and your animal’s needs. Request your free, tailor-made light plan by sending an e-mail to [email protected]

Share this post:

Recent posts
HATO LED lighting without flickering
Everything you need to know about light flicker!
Thommes van Nierop presenting the new HATO 2.0 branding
HATO 2.0 explained!
Menu